First post from Alex the wine lady

I am no longer able to enjoy cheap plonk!

Most people think that being a wine merchant must be a wonderful job. And in a lot of ways it can be. However when I became a wine merchant one area of my life changed enormously;

I am no longer able to enjoy cheap plonk!

I cannot just pick up a glass that someone has poured for me and quaff it without first looking at the label, knowing where it came from, what grape it is, how much it cost, where I can get it and countless other questions. I  have to smell it before it goes anywhere near my lips and I will swish it round the glass and look at it. Then, when it has passed all these little tests, I will take a sip. I see friends waiting for approval of their choice of wine for me.

Life was much simpler when you could answer “White please” and really not care what was put in the glass. So the real question is did I really enjoy the cheap plonk splashed in a glass at a party? At the time I believe that I did. Does a nasty glass of wine at a party spoil the evening “No!” does a glorious glass of wine at a party enhance the evening “Yes yes yes!”

To quote King Edward IV “One not only drinks wine, one smells it, observes it, tastes it, sips it and one talks about it.

So talk!

1 Comment

Filed under Alex the Wine Lady, Bat and Bottle, Wine

One response to “First post from Alex the wine lady

Leave a Reply

